PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Kiln Question

jools02
21-10-2009, 07:31 AM
Hi all, I'm very new to jewellery making but have done a course for PMC+ fingerprint jewellery recently. I've just got my first kiln, an EFCO 135 with a Uhlig controller and a ceramic plate to protect the bottom.

However I'm not sure how to use it! It doesn't come with instructions. I asked the seller but she never used it for PMC before. She says she used to use it on setting 8 which was about 950c so I'm guessing its prob about setting 7 for the 850c required for the PMC+?

If anyone else has one of these I'd be grateful for help with the following:
How do I get it to 850c for firing PMC+ and how long do I need to fire it for?
Do I put the clay straight onto the ceramic plate?
How many pieces can I fire at once?

Thanks all!

bustagasket
21-10-2009, 07:38 AM
Welcome to the forum Jools, i am sure someone will soon be able to help you as there are a lot of kiln owners on here, and if they dont own your particular kiln i would be very surprised if they werent able to point you in the right direction. You have come to the right place for help :D:~:

MuranoSilver
21-10-2009, 08:09 AM
Sorry the controller on my kiln is a SentryExpress 3
I noticed Cherry Haven sells your model though so maybe they might be able to sell you some intructions :)
nicola x

Solunar Silver Studio
21-10-2009, 08:36 AM
Hi Jools and welcome to the forum. I am still very much a beginner and I have a kiln what has a programmer which I use for pmc and an Uhlig that doesn't which I use for 'mucky' stuff!! I also am a firm believer in experimentation!! If I was in your position I would sacrifice a piece of pmc in the way that is described here

PMC GUILD - Getting Started in Precious Metal Clay - FAQ: Firing PMC (http://www.pmcguild.com/gettingstarted/faq_firing.html)