PDA

View Full Version : Gas and equipment

Patstone
06-08-2023, 07:45 AM
Hi, I'm back again. My problem is my calor gas bottle was empty and when I came to refill it they told me that the 4.7kg bottle was discontinued, suggested using a 7kg bottle, but I need to buy all the bits as mine wont fit. So here I am, trying to make up my mind what to use now. I have looked on the Cookson site and thought the Sievert beginners torch may be a good bet, I have been soldering etc for 11 years so not a beginner but work in my spare bedroom, so need something smalllish. Dont want a handheld as I am blind in one eye and dont want to knock it over, and the Sievert one has a hanger. Opinions and ideas welcomed please. Pat Lee P.s Hello to Dennis and Miz George.

Caro
06-08-2023, 09:06 PM
Hi, I'm back again. My problem is my calor gas bottle was empty and when I came to refill it they told me that the 4.7kg bottle was discontinued, suggested using a 7kg bottle, but I need to buy all the bits as mine wont fit. So here I am, trying to make up my mind what to use now. I have looked on the Cookson site and thought the Sievert beginners torch may be a good bet, I have been soldering etc for 11 years so not a beginner but work in my spare bedroom, so need something smalllish. Dont want a handheld as I am blind in one eye and dont want to knock it over, and the Sievert one has a hanger. Opinions and ideas welcomed please. Pat Lee P.s Hello to Dennis and Miz George.

I have the Sievert and love it (and am also effectively a one eyed silversmith as I lack binocular vision!)

If you choose Sievert, then buy from Hamilton Gas rather than Cooksons (will that get me banned??). It's significantly cheaper and Hamilton will answer all your questions as they have the necessary technical knowledge.