PDA

View Full Version : restoring Tin metal , what compounds should i get ?

einhander
05-07-2021, 10:46 AM
hi members , i have recently bought a item while not being Jewelry or a Watch it still falls into a catagory where you could help. I got this item for $44 AUD and it usually goes around the
$230 AUD mark i don't plan on selling it i want to keep it. What is it ?........it is a Sepultura Tin CD Boxset , i will leave some attachment photos below. Quite simply it's rare and i've wanted one for
some time , so this opportunity has come up and i want to restore it to excellent condition.

ok so i have sanded it down (240 grit) and removed imperfections and now i need to remove sanding scratches and polish it to a shine. It's my first time so i need some gentle guidance ,
also i have made a Labanda account for products i need.

btw i will be using a Drill and a Dremel (i don't have a bench grinder) , i have seen on ebay in the link below. I'm hoping this will work with Jewelers Buffing Wheels

i found a Drill attachment on ebay that might work , i can't post links yet but you can search ebay for 'Tapered Mandrel,drill Attachment,tapered Spindle For Polishing,Moping,puffing'

can anyone suggest where i should go from here ? ..........like what compounds i need for Tin , the order i should use each color etc......

i have attached some pics of what a excellent condition Tin looks like , and i have attached my before and after sanding.

any help is appreciated , chat soon

china
05-07-2021, 01:56 PM
Next step sand to 400 then 600 then 1200 then 1500 then 2000 then polish with Tripoli then white rouge, then finish with a cream type polish such as Reflection, then spray with a automotive clear coat.
You will need to run around the edge of the pattern also to remove any tiny amount of rust that may be present. I would purchase bench grinder and some decent mops, not some thing I would tackle with a Dremel type tool

einhander
07-07-2021, 07:41 AM