PDA

View Full Version : Sole Traders

agent_44
01-10-2009, 11:16 AM
I find it a bit annoying that as a Sole Trader I can't register or protect my business name! I have been told by companies house that unless I am prepared to become a ltd company (which I am not, lol!) that anyone can legally use and register my business name. Annoying :N:

bustagasket
01-10-2009, 11:25 AM
typical bureaucracy

Jayne
01-10-2009, 12:11 PM
Yeah, I was told that when I set up as a sole trader as well. The surprising thing is to google your prospective business name and see how many people are using it already! I have made sure (as sure as I can) that there is noone out there using the name who is in a similar line of business (jewellery, gifts, metalwork etc) and that it isn't already a Ltd company, so that hopefully should I want to register in the future it will be okay and to make sure that I'm not treading on anyone else's toes!
I did almost spend £65 registering the name with a business name register........but realised in the nick of time that it was a bit of a sham [-X
I guess the retail community in this country has evolved from a face-to-face town/city scenario where every town had a 'Smiths' and a 'Jones' (and no one could confuse them with other business' of similar names because it only related to a bricks & mortar shop); to one global village where as a result of mail order & the net everyone knows about everyone! Not enough business names to go around!!
J x

agent_44
01-10-2009, 12:21 PM
I've been told that apparently a Sole Trader could actually register their name with companies house, I wish this was the case now!

Yeah I have done all the checks etc, although failed to spot an american jewellery company with practically the same name, just the american spelling of jewellery, but it was too late by the time I realised, d'oh!

Lindyloo
01-10-2009, 01:04 PM
Does that not make an argument for using your own name to market your own designer jewellery?

agent_44