PDA

View Full Version : Spring ends ... Help Please

Petal
30-09-2009, 03:44 PM
I've been practicing these on and off for a couple of days now and its driving me :(| I either get the spring ends too small, then I can't fit my thong into the end, or they are too large and when I press down on the spring to secure it - it looks cr!p... I imagine its just more practice, or am I squishing on the end too hard??? If I've missed a vital tip, I'd really appreciate it.

Here's the pics of my awful ends....

As usual, honest feedback please.

Thanks

Solunar Silver Studio
30-09-2009, 03:51 PM
I've never done these before...but have just bought the multi looping pliers from Cooksons...which look like great fun. I had a play last night with a scrap of fine silver wire and can see they have great potential.

I don't know what I am talking about...but what gauge wire are you using? I was wondering if you would get a less flattened looking crimp to the end of the coil if the wire was a bit more robust...also - would it be possible to sort of turn the end of the coil wire in a bit before you squish so that it sort of impales the thong or lace as well as hugging it!!??

Petal
30-09-2009, 03:57 PM
oooh thanks for the quick reply Bee ! I hadn't thought of turning the wire in before squishing! Do you like my techy terms there! Its .8mm wire BTW.

I think the air of desperation is because I've got 3 days to go before my next event and a lot of these to make =:-O - or not if they don't look any better than the one here...

Petal
30-09-2009, 04:03 PM
I've just re-read a reply that Boo gave me when I originally asked how to make these.. and have realised that's exactly what she suggested #-o

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do you mean like on the ends of this necklace of mine:

necklace6053f on Flickr - Photo Sharing!