PDA

View Full Version : Hello I am very new to all of this!

ChrisH
20-04-2020, 09:02 AM
Hi all

I have been a collector of bits and bobs of scrap silver over the years, always had an interest in jewellery and, with the arrival of my first child have come to the conclusion I want to make a cast of his hand out of sterling silver.

All this brought me, in a very roundabout way, to this site which seems to have an excellent knowledge base.

I'll have a nose around and see if I can find places to start my research into the list of things I would like to achieve in the coming years, but if anyone has any pointers I would gratefully accept them.

1) The best way of making a cast for a baby's hand (sand, presumably);
2) The most appropriate melting furnace for a very amateur (at this stage) operation;
3) A beginners guide to making silver jewellery

As I say I will nose around, nothing worse than a new person asking all the questions from the FAQ page!

Chris

china
20-04-2020, 11:49 AM
Hi Chris, welcome to the mad house,
I do not do a lot of casting so those more au fait with the process may correct me a hand even a baby's hand is going to be a big chunk of silver, the first problem will be making the mould getting him/her be still for around 15-20 mins for the gel to set
something like Alginate, then you can make a wax cast to use in sand or investment (plaster).
I strongly suggest that you Google the the process of lost wax casting, also sand casting, so you know what you are in for, it can be fairly costly for just a "one off" although if you really want get into it the cost will be overcome.

Dennis
20-04-2020, 12:27 PM
Thinking about it, I would say the most economical of silver would be to do just the palm, or back of the hand, and fingers as a mould in silicone, which is stable and permanent. Then use electroforming to create a thin shell. Welcome to the forum, Dennis.

CJ57
20-04-2020, 01:22 PM
Hi Chris