PDA

View Full Version : How to make something like this?

callambx
26-11-2019, 09:10 AM
Hi all,

This is my first forum post! I am new to the jewellery making thing, and I love it! I have seen a ring I would like to make something similar but am unsure about how to proceed. Hoping you could advise :)

I have a slightly different design but it is theoretically the same concept, ring with cut out pattern. So what I am asking is, how is this sort of thing made?

Thank you

Callum

ps_bond
26-11-2019, 09:18 AM
I would probably scribe the design onto a length of flat sheet, bend up the ring, drill it to thread sawblades through and then pierce it, finishing the holes by filing. Alternatively, make up a flat ring then draw the design onto it & continue. I'd prefer not to pierce it flat as it would be more of a faff to align and solder.

Now... Which bits need more detail? :)

Dennis
26-11-2019, 09:37 AM
Draw it out carefully as a flat strip on graph paper, which helps to keep it accurate.
The diameter will be taken from measuring your ring stick with callipers.
The length (the cicumference) will be taken from the formula 3.14(pi) x (diameter+thickness of metal used)

Having drawn the strip, paste it onto some metal about 1.00mm thick, using a Pritt stick. When dry, drill it and pierce it using a fine blade.
Take off the paper under warm water, tidy with files, bend up and solder. When drawing it you will have decided where best to make your join.

Ideally, for accuracy, you will end up with the ring about half a size too small and stretch it to size. If you have access to a ring stretcher that would be ideal. Dennis.

callambx
26-11-2019, 10:00 AM
Okay, I was hoping you might say that it would be easier to cast it.

That is going to be some rather intricate saw work!

ps_bond
26-11-2019, 10:29 AM
Could cast it, but by the time I'd drawn it up in CAD & printed it I could have made it. And if you're doing the work in wax, it's no worse in this case to do it in metal IMO.