Thread: Gifts On Demand

Default Gifts On Demand

As an amateur, my pieces are given away to family and friends, or they end up in my projects graveyard. Just occasionally I get a request as I did for this phoenix belt buckle and I am glad of the challenge.

It seemed that my best option, using the tools I already had, was to make it in pierced silver with a coloured lining; then to add a strong back sheet, with a peg and a bridge for the leather strap.

For the front I chose a heavy roll texture, made with floral net curtaining, evocative of fire and smoke. This was a decision I came to regret when I tried to read the scribed image later.

Next I laid out the design and formed the front plate into a cushion shape, using my hydraulic press. Finally I filled in the design, with a black sharpie and pierced it. The pierced edges were lightly bevelled with a scorper. All this seemed to take ages and no doubt James would have finished it before breakfast.

The contrasting lining I made of copper for the reddish flames, adding Platinol where needed for the black parts. The copper was first textured with a frosting wheel to give some bite for patination.

Lastly the back sheet was secured with four self-tapping screws from my box of found objects. Dennis.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails p Image Of Phoenix.jpg   p Phoenix Belt.jpg   p Reverse Of Buckle.jpg  
    Last edited by Dennis; 12-03-2012 at 09:35 AM. Reason: Last picture would not open

Nice job, as always!

What thickness of silver did you use for that, Dennis? For that style I tend to like 3-4mm to give the buckle some heft, which is getting to be somewhat costly in silver.

And, since I've got a bee in my bonnet about belts - what's the leather? I'd hazard a guess at a through-dyed split, but I might be wrong?